Understanding Union Territory, Reorganization of States and Citizenship

What is Union Territory, Reorganization of states and Citizenship? 

As we know that India is a federal union comprising of twenty-nine states and seven union territories. The states and union territories are further subdivided into districts and further into smaller administrative divisions. The first thing we hear from people when asked about the reason behind the subdivisions, the answer we generally get is, it will be easier to handle. But how does it become easier and what are the other purposes behind it? Let’s find out!

Why Subdivision?

The population of India is increasing at an alarming rate and with this comes an inevitable need to create smaller administrative units. Creating smaller units is important for better development. However, the units can be created with the proper consent of people belonging to the respective state.

What is Re-Organization?

India was subdivided into 14 states and 6 union territories by the first Sates Re-Organization Committee (SRC). Few smaller states like Goa, Haryana, and Punjab have recorded a faster and higher growth as they are the smaller units and are easy to handle.

The re-organization of any state is meant to be done with the proper consent of citizens of that state unlike the way of Andhra Pradesh, where the re-organization resulted in widespread public chaos and animosity.

After effects of Re-Organization

Once a state undergoes re-organization government should take care of the uniformity and should also ensure that the inter-state trade and commerce are not affected. Free movement should be there of goods between the states.

Let us know about some re-organizations in the past –
    • Uttar Pradesh into Paschim UP, Kendriya UP, and Purvanchal.
    • Maharashtra into Western Maharashtra and Eastern Maharashtra/Vidarbh
    • Rajasthan into Paschim Rajasthan and Purvi Rajasthan
    • Tamil Nadu into North TN and South TM.
    • Karnataka into North Karnataka and South Karnataka

Union Territories

Formation and re-formation of any place are done with the basic motive of speedy development, beautification and better administration. For the same cause, it would always be better if the capital cities of big states come under the direct administration of the central government without giving on their status. With the consent of the citizens of state, the change can be brought for a better future.

What is Citizenship?

In a state of the country, the total population is divided into categories like citizens, aliens, and stateless persons. They all have different rights to execute. Let us know the terms in detail.


Civil and political rights are enjoyed fully by any citizen of the state as they also owe an allegiance to it. They are regarded as a full member of state.


A person is considered to be an alien when he is a member of any other state. They don’t have constitutional or any other rights. They can be further classified into Friendly Aliens and Enemy Aliens.

Stateless person

The people who are not the citizens of any country such as their citizenship is not recognized by any state. They are treated just like aliens. In a few countries, a stateless person doesn’t even exist. Number of Tamilians in Sri Lanka are treated as Stateless persons.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at info@oneworldnews.in 

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.